How to add a GEDCOM to familysearch.org

Familysearch.org does not always have easy navigation. It may look pretty but there is so much available there that it is sometimes hard to find what you are looking for. Thank goodness for Google!

I could not find where to add my GEDCOM to their one world tree from the menus, so I googled around and found this URL for their user guide to uploading a GEDCOM which explains the details:

Import GEDCOM https://familysearch.org/upload/trees

Posted in Web

Why Grandparents Are Important: A Tribute

Why Grandparents Are Important: A Tribute

Why Grandparents Are Important: A Tribute

 

Alisa Parker honors grandparents during recent Grandparent’s Day event.

On September 12, the Ecumenical Senior Center honored grandparents during an annual event held at Mt. Zion Baptist Church. It may be one of the only celebrations for Grandparents held in this area during Grandparents Day.

 Why Grandparents are so Important By Alisa Parker

Blessed to know my paternal and maternal grandmothers, I have come to understand the great value of having a grandparent in my life. That value was greatly enriched for me when my paternal grandmother, Verneil Parker, passed away in 1995. With her passing I learned early that grandparents are precious jewels that should never be taken for granted. Grandparents serve an important role in both the family and community at large.

Bernice Myles was honored for chairing the annual Grandparents Day.

When founder, Marian McQuade, championed the cause for Grandparents Day in the late 1970s, she recognized the need to help elderly people in nursing homes balanced with the need to motivate grandchildren to tap into the wisdom and heritage grandparents could provide. It is with this spirit that many have studied the role of the grandparent and have documented the sociological and psychological impact they have in society.

In an article by Sara Green entitled “Grandma’s Hands: Parental Perceptions of the Importance of Grandparents as Secondary Caregivers in families of Children With Disabilities,” she conducts a survey which describes the impact of grandparents.

Jimmie Roller, 42, was honored as the Youngest Grandparent, during the event. Pinkie Jefferson, age 82, was named “Oldest Grandparent.”

First, the survey found that grandparents are a common source of weekly assistance significantly more common than other relatives or friends and neighbors. Secondly, where grandparents participate, the number of other sources of support is also higher. Lastly, the article states that “help from grandparents has a positive, while the number of other sources of help has a negative, relationship to parental ability to maintain a positive emotional outlook and avoid physical exhaustion.” (Green) In other words, having help from a grandparent can be more beneficial and provide a much healthier and positive environment, than help from having a nanny or a babysitter.

In a study conducted by the Montana State University, the researchers identify four roles that grandparents play.  1) Family watchdog, 2) nurturer, 3) family historian, and 4) companion.  Although this list is not exhaustive, the research done by this university as well as other studies on confirm what most grandparents already know. They are not only important but are significant in the helping maintain the family and cultivate the generations coming up behind them. More than anything, some of these studies I believe, studies serve to confirm and validate the need for grandparents in our society and show that their role extends beyond the family setting.

Pearl Warren, 70, was honored for “Most Grandchildren” 64!

For the past two years I have had the opportunity to practice in the area of elder law as a Staff Attorney at Legal Services of South Central Michigan in Battle Creek. In that role, I have met so many wonderful seniors. In meeting these seniors, different from my non-senior clients, I occasionally find that although they are coming to me to seeking legal advice, I leave the meeting gaining a little knowledge or wisdom about life in general for myself.

What I have also gained in working with so many seniors is that the role of grandparent isn’t just limited to those biologically connected. I guess this is what Marian McQuade envisioned when advocating grandparents day.

As I reflect on my own life, while blessed to have a wonderful and supportive biological grandmother in Lois Key, there are some others, that I have no blood relation too, who have taken on the role of being a grandparent in my life. Having the helping hands of these surrogates has been just as instrumental and important in helping me to become the person I am today!

Shaping the lives of young people, being a positive influence and molding the next generations is probably the most significant role that grandparents play.  Beyond statistical data, the true evidence of the importance of grandparents lies in the countless stories of hope, encouragement and love that can be told by men, women and children from all walks of life.  I believe the late Alex Haley summed it up best when he said, “Grandparents do more for us than anyone else in the world; they sprinkle stardust in our eyes.” 

Happy Grandparents Day!

 

We regret to inform you that comments on this article are closed.

Website copyright © 2010 to Season Press LLC. Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyContactAdvertise

 

Posted in Web

Top 100 Genealogy Websites for 2014

Top 100 Genealogy Websites for 2014
Rank Website Category Country Free Pay 2013 Rank Address
1 Ancestry.com records USA pay 1 http://www.ancestry.com/
2 Find A Grave cemetery USA free 3 http://www.findagrave.com/
3 FamilySearch records USA free 4 https://www.familysearch.org/
4 MyHeritage.com family tree USA pay 2 http://www.myheritage.com/
5 Geni.com family tree USA pay 5 http://www.geni.com/
6 Ancestry.co.uk records UK pay 6 http://www.ancestry.co.uk/
7 GeneaNet family tree France free 8 http://www.geneanet.org/
8 Archives.com records USA pay 7 http://www.archives.com/
9 Genealogy.com records USA pay 9 http://genealogy.com/
10 Genealogy Bank newspapers USA pay 11 http://www.genealogybank.com/gbnk/
11 Eastman’s Newsletter blog USA free 22 http://blog.eogn.com/
12 Ancient Faces forum USA free 12 http://www.ancientfaces.com/
13 Arkivverket Digitalarkivet records Norway free 13 http://arkivverket.no/eng/content/view/full/629
14 Family Tree DNA DNA testing USA pay 17 http://www.familytreedna.com/
15 Ancestry.ca records Canada pay 19 http://www.ancestry.ca/
16 GenealogyInTime Magazine magazine Canada free 21 http://www.genealogyintime.com/
17 Ancestry.com.au records Australia pay 16 http://www.ancestry.com.au/
18 FindMyPast UK records UK pay 14 http://www.findmypast.co.uk/
19 Fold3 records USA pay 20 http://www.fold3.com/
20 MyHeritage.no family tree Norway pay 18 http://www.myheritage.no/
21 WikiTree family tree USA free 31 http://www.wikitree.com/
22 Newspaper Archive newspapers USA pay 13 http://www.newspaperarchive.com/
23 Roots Chat forum UK free 42 http://rootschat.com/
24 Mundia family tree USA pay 39 http://www.mundia.com/
25 Genealogie.com family tree France pay 23 http://www.genealogie.com/
26 Newspapers.com newspapers USA pay 78 http://www.newspapers.com/
27 Genealogy.About.com articles USA free 28 http://genealogy.about.com/
28 Mocavo search engine USA pay 25 http://www.mocavo.com/
29 MyFamily forum USA pay 10 https://www.myfamily.com/
30 Genes Reunited records UK pay 24 http://www.genesreunited.co.uk/
31 JTA Jewish News Archive newspapers USA free 32 http://archive.jta.org/
32 USGenweb Archives records USA free 26 http://usgwarchives.net/
33 JewishGen ethnic heritage USA free 34 http://www.jewishgen.org/
34 DIS-Norway society Norway free n/a http://www.disnorge.no
35 Steve Morse search engine USA free 56 http://stevemorse.org/
36 MyHeritage.es family tree Spain pay 37 http://www.myheritage.es/
37 Cyndi’s List links USA free 35 http://cyndislist.com/
38 EllisIsland.org records USA free 30 http://www.ellisisland.org/
39 World Vital Records records USA pay 29 http://www.worldvitalrecords.com/
40 Genealogy Trails records USA free 50 http://genealogytrails.com/
41 Family Tree Magazine magazine USA pay 43 http://www.familytreemagazine.com/
42 Free BMD records UK free 36 http://www.freebmd.org.uk/
43 American Ancestors society USA pay 38 http://www.americanancestors.org/
44 ProGenealogists services USA pay 81 http://www.progenealogists.com/
45 Tribal Pages family tree USA pay 44 http://tribalpages.com/
46 Billion Graves cemetery USA free 110 http://billiongraves.com/
47 British History Online records UK free 59 http://www.british-history.ac.uk/
48 ScotlandsPeople records Scotland pay 53 http://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/
49 Legacy Family Tree software USA pay 51 http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
50 Fulton History newspapers USA free 45 http://fultonhistory.com/
51 MyHeritage.fr family tree France pay 49 http://www.myheritage.fr/
52 Daughters American Revolution society USA pay 57 http://dar.org/
53 Ahnenforschung.net forum Germany free 65 http://ahnenforschung.net/
54 Genealogie Online family tree Netherlands pay 85 http://www.genealogieonline.nl/
55 MyHeritage.de family tree Germany pay 40 http://www.myheritage.de/
56 Genoom family tree Spain free 70 http://www.genoom.com/
57 British Newspaper Archive newspapers UK pay 66 http://www.britishnewspaperarchive.co.uk/
58 Genealogy Today records USA pay 67 http://genealogytoday.com/
59 FindMyPast.com records USA pay 48 http://www.findmypast.com
60 Roots Ireland records Ireland pay 83 http://www.rootsireland.ie/
61 RootsMagic software USA pay 63 http://www.rootsmagic.com/
62 thePeerage records UK free 60 http://thepeerage.com/
63 Canada’s Anglo-Celtic Connections blog Canada free 95 http://anglo-celtic-connections.blogspot.com/
64 WieWasWie records Netherlands free 104 https://www.wiewaswie.nl/
65 MyHeritage.pl family tree Poland pay 69 http://www.myheritage.pl/
66 Interment cemetery USA free 55 http://interment.net/
67 MyTrees family tree USA pay 52 http://www.mytrees.com/
68 FamilyLink records USA pay 41 http://www.familylink.com/
69 Family Tree Webinars magazine USA pay n/a http://www.familytreewebinars.com
70 Genuki records UK free 58 http://genuki.org.uk/
71 MyHeritage.com.br family tree Brazil pay 64 http://www.myheritage.com.br/
72 Forces War Records records UK pay 72 http://www.forces-war-records.co.uk/
73 MyHeritage.nl family tree Netherlands pay 61 http://www.myheritage.nl/
74 The Genealogist records UK pay 92 http://www.thegenealogist.co.uk/
75 Ancestry.se records Sweden pay 109 http://www.ancestry.se/
76 Family Tree Maker software USA pay 62 http://familytreemaker.com/
77 Commonwealth War Graves records UK free 93 http://www.cwgc.org/
78 Dansk Demografisk Database records Denmark free 144 http://ddd.dda.dk/ddd_en.htm
79 Irish Genealogical Research Society society Ireland pay n/a http://www.irishancestors.ie/
80 FindMyPast Ireland records Ireland pay 116 http://www.findmypast.ie/
81 Geneabloggers blog USA free 89 http://www.geneabloggers.com/
82 Heritage Quest Online records USA pay 74 http://www.heritagequestonline.com/
83 Ancestry.de records Germany pay 68 http://www.ancestry.de/
84 sysoon cemetery USA free 46 http://www.sysoon.com/
85 Death Indexes links USA free 76 http://www.deathindexes.com/
86 We Relate wiki USA free 54 http://www.werelate.org/
87 Gould Genealogy services Australia pay 157 http://www.gouldgenealogy.com/
88 Geneawiki wiki France free 86 http://www.geneawiki.com/
89 Genea-Musings blog USA free 80 http://www.geneamusings.com/
90 MyHeritage.se family tree Sweden pay n/a http://www.myheritage.se/
91 Volksbund records Germany free 134 http://www.volksbund.de/
92 ObituariesHelp.org links USA free 47 http://www.obituarieshelp.org/
93 MyHeritage.it family tree Italy pay 100 http://www.myheritage.it/
94 Access Genealogy search engine USA free 71 http://www.accessgenealogy.com/
95 Ontario Genealogical Society society Canada free 77 http://www.ogs.on.ca/
96 Automated Genealogy records Canada free 73 http://www.automatedgenealogy.com/
97 Ancestry.fr records France pay n/a http://www.ancestry.fr/
98 USGenweb Project records USA free 113 http://www.usgenweb.org/
99 Familiaridade family tree Brazil free 142 http://www.familiaridade.com.br/
100 Irish Genealogy records Ireland free 117 http://www.irishgenealogy.ie/
Posted in Web

Genealogy Definition

noun, plural genealogies.
1.   a record or account of the ancestry and descent of a person, family, group, etc.

2.   the study of family ancestries and histories.

3.   descent from an original form or progenitor; lineage; ancestry.

4.   Biology. a group of individuals or species having a common ancestry:
The various species of Darwin’s finches form a closely knit genealogy.

Posted in Web

kin

noun
1. a person’s relatives collectively; kinfolk.

2. family relationship or kinship.

3. a group of persons descended from a common ancestor or constituting a people, clan, tribe, or family.

4. a relative or kinsman.

5. someone or something of the same or similar kind:
philosophy and its kin, theology.
adjective

6. of the same family; related; akin.

7. of the same kind or nature; having affinity.
Idioms

8. of kin, of the same family; related; akin:
Although their surnames are identical they are not of kin.

Posted in Web